Barefoot Running and Nicks

I’ve been hamstrung from using the wonderful weather to barefoot run.

The only condition I have on barefoot running is not running with cuts. It’s a health concern. Normally, the soles of your feet offer a protective barrier to keep microorganisms at bay. When the skin is ruptured or broken in anyway – a scab, cut, or crack – you get vulnerable.

A little while back a glass broke in our kitchen on the tile. After 10-15 minutes I figured I had swept or vacuumed all the pieces up. Nope. A few months later and my feet found a nice little chink of glass. Don’t get me wrong, I’m very glad it was me and not my wife or daughter, but I was really looking forward to barefoot running. Just as the weather turned nice.

I still got a good run in.

What amazes me is that our feet are defended by more than our skin. In fact, some studies show that a layer of bacteria and other micro organisms colonize the bottoms of our feet and provide an additional barrier against infection. One of the studies was looking at the effects of anti-fungal medication on the balance of this biomass on our feet, and it showed, not all that surprisingly, that anti-fungal medication can (I’ll emphasize ‘can’) make us more susceptible to further infection.

How wild is that? I wonder when we will be able to create or reinforce our symbiotic relationship with bacteria to fight infection.

I also wonder how long this little cut will take to heal. I almost ran on the track with it anyways.

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Fitness, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

