Torn Up Komodosports

For the last year and a half, I’ve had a single pair of Vibram Fivefingers Komodosport Ls shoes.

They’ve been troupers, I took up running with them, and I’ve put hundreds of miles on their rubber soles. Tuesday I ran 10.16 miles, my longest run in my life, will now have to say good bye to my beloved shoes.

I’ve worn through the tread on both feet, and at some point over the 10 mile run, I managed to tear the rubber on the right big toe all the way through. The cloth was trying to hold them together pretty successfully, but at this point they no longer function as shoes. 

I haven’t yet let my feet heal up so I can run barefoot, but even when I do, I’ll always like running in uncertain terrain in my five fingers. And I can’t complain about how long they last. I’ve been told that the best running shoes need to be replaced every four months. Some don’t even last that long. But the Vibrams held up for 1 year and 7 months running on trails and pavement and gravel and sand. 

I’ve hiked in them, ran in them, driven in them, carried my daughter in them, and in general just enjoyed the heck out of them. They’ve been so tough that I really never imagined that I’d be able to destroy them, but maybe that’s just how much they’ve been loved!

So goodbye Komodos and thank you for some great runs!

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

