Vegan Pizza!

The 575 Pizzeria in Amarillo, Tx makes a vegan pizza!

My wife discovered this yesterday and ordered me a pizza. Isn’t she amazing? It’s always incredible when you can find vegan options at restaurants. Thai places are normal, but I didn’t even think to check a pizza place. The pizza was pretty good, but I have a few thoughts on vegan cheese.

First off, it’s not terribly good. It isn’t bad either. It sits in this weird zone of textures you think you remember from some time when you were teething and something that seeps out of a rubber tree. It looks sort of like latex paint, and if non of what I’m saying sounds appetizing, well just know that it tastes not quite entirely unlike cheese.

So, the pizza was good overall, but it was stymied a little by an unorthodox approach to processing soybeans but still good. Perhaps the last 3 weeks hasn’t really helped my love of cheese, because I’ve enjoyed this unique approach to semi cheese in salads over the last few weeks. Pizza however maintains it’s identity even with a bazar stuff on top as it’s base.

In the future, I think I’ll just order my pizza with veggies and sauce, a sort of Chicago style pie with egg plant and mushroom. Maybe a little squash and some bell peppers… Yeah, now I’m hungry.

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

