Eulogy for a Ring

weddingring

I lost my wedding ring today, a simple white gold band.

It’s just a piece of metal and a symbol. So, perhaps I shouldn’t miss it, but I do. My finger feels naked and empty. It’s been through a lot with me, so it does matter to me. At our wedding, Tim Palmer (our pastor) told us to remember our wedding and all the reasons we love each other every time the ring clinks against a glass, a metal railing, or anything else that makes a sound.

Our sort of chimes or bell that grants an angels its wings.

But it’s not on my finger any more.

I took it off before I swam in pools because I didn’t want to loose it.

I took it off before playing in the snow a few times because I didn’t want to loose it.

I took it off before jumping in the lake or walking up a stream because I didn’t want to loose it.

Today, I took it off to chase chickens and handed it to Courtney because I didn’t want to loose it.

But it’s just a piece of metal.

I’m no less married than I was before, but that piece of metal went on road trips was clinked against glasses and my wife’s wedding band. There are pictures of our wedding bands over Courtney’s pregnant tummy with Jane inside and one with Lucy inside as well. We would hold hands in pictures just so people could see the rings.

But it’s just a piece of metal.

That I wore the first time my girl took her steps. That I used to twirl out of nervousness when I taught chemistry for the first time. That I twirled every Sunday when I was getting up to preach. That I use to slip on and off just to look at the reflection inside the ring.

But it’s not on my finger now.

Maybe I’ll see it again, maybe I can dig through the dirt in the rodeo grounds long enough to find it. I wish I had taken it swimming and lost it in the pool or a lake or a stream. Where it could have been me who lost it. This will be harder on Courtney. But maybe I’ll get lucky and find it… For right now it feels like it was more than just a bit of metal to me.

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eulogy for a Ring

Leave a Reply

