New Open Water Spot: Lake Meredith

2011ss-lamr1

My friend the TI coach finally got me out to swim at the Stilling Basin of Lake Meredith.

It’s a beautiful spot and a picturesque drive. So far I’ve swum at Tanglewood lake, and that’s been about it. It’s a lot closer than Meredith, about 20-30 minutes vs a 1 hour+ to the stilling basin, and the basin is understandably smaller. This is still worth the drive if you’re from Amarillo or even a bit further, and for people in Borger, Fritch, and Sanford – this should be completely full of open water swimmers, but it’s still not a big passion out here in the Panhandle.

Using the whole area of the lake my friend has managed to get a good half-mile course set up, but it was somewhere between 700M and 800M. I hope I can get out there with a GPS to set the course right at 800M, and I’d really like to set up a couple of 100-150 M areas for intervals. That’s my pool training coming back to haunt me. It does seem like it would really help to have a short segment to build some speed and work on keeping lines straight before you haul off for 400 m across the lake.

The group was a great group of a few triathletes and swimmers, and the water temperature was so nice that I could really hammer the speed.

After a few weeks of doing short work in the pool, it was nice to stretch out my arms.

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

