Rain in Amarillo

At the moment, I’m sitting on the front porch sending up some prayers of thanks for a cold, wet, damp feeling that’s come in with this afternoon’s rain. It’s the same feeling the atmosphere took on when I went to visit Duke in NC, but it’s sitting far from home in the plains of North West Texas. 

North Carolina possessed a distinct feel during a rainstorm especially in the fall. No where else I lived matched it. The sky was a combination of wind and humidity and gray light with green hews poking through that wrapped you up and made you feel comfortable – even when cold. 

Today in Amarillo reminded me of that sort of wet feel, and there’s been enough rain for the last few months for green bits to show through the mist. It was satisfyingly wet, and wet that in NC would have stuck around for a awhile. On cue then here is tomorrow’s prediction for rainfall. 

I like the rain. It makes we want to get under the covers with a good book and just read for a while. I’ve got a two or three novels that I’m half heartedly interested in at the moment, so, maybe tomorrow evening as the rain falls… I’ll dive in and see where they end up going. For tonight, I’ll enjoy the silence of a house that doesn’t need air conditioning. 

Or maybe I’ll stay out on the porch for a while and soak up the chilled moist air that I sometimes think only a swimmer could really love. Although, I’m sure there are other bizarre subculture adherents that find it energizing as well. 

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

