Not So Sure About Yoda

imgres-1

I’m not really a perfectionist, but Yoda offers up this gem which I have gone back and forth liking it and disliking it.

Ok so truthfully, I am a bit of a perfectionist. That’s probably why I like this quote, because I want things to go right the first time. Every attempt I want to be perfect not just good. But I think saying that there’s no such thing as trying is foolish – in order to seem philosophically pithy.

It’s my thought that we are all in perpetual cycles of attempts and failures – in other words we are always trying something and testing it and revisiting the attempt. We try and try and try again, and that’s what it means to be human. We are always growing through attempting and trying.

Nothing would ever get done if we didn’t try. We would never improve or progress if we weren’t willing to fail in an attempt.

So, I’m sorry Yoda, but I want to keep trying – but to be fair, it maybe that’s what Yoda had in mind. A lack of clarity or ambiguity does not equate to true wisdom.

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

