Backslide

Being sick and having family members sick has done to me what it does to everyone of us. I’ve started to back slide in my fitness. Over the last month we’ve had several illnesses pass through our family, and I’ve even been down for the count twice for a few days here and there.

A few days on either side of those days, and now it’s been quite a while since I’ve had a good run.

I’m looking forward to stretching out my legs again, and now I’m hunting for some time to do it. Our schedules grow up around the time we take off, and so it’s back to carving out time and energy. I’m not even sure if I have the energy to start back up, I’m still tired after all the weeks off.

But I’m going to do it.

I’m going to start going at it again.

I want to run another half marathon and a marathon. I want to swim the Manhattan Island Marathon Swim, Catalina Channel, and the English Channel. I want to experiment with all the different theories and ideas that I’ve discovered over the last few months. I want to try some of the syntheses of new information into a cohesive work out.

I want to test my ability to be moderate and balance my schedule.

I want to test my body and mind and discipline.

I want to test and explore, not just the world but myself.

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Fitness, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

