Too Excited to Sleep: SBLAAR Con 2014 San Diego

The Society of Biblical Literature and the American Academy of Religion meet in San Diego in their combined Annual Meeting over the next few days, and I’m headed out to join them. It’s my first time to go to this particular meeting, and so my excitement isn’t exactly in check.

In fact, I might have woken up about 3:30 am and not been able to go back to sleep.

Why am I excited? Because this in my mind is like a sci-fi convention for religion scholars…. Well actually there are several sessions/lectures being offered that mix the two, but that actually riles up the blood even more. Who doesn’t want to talk about intersteller evolutions of mormonism in Orson Scott Cardd’s Ender’s Game and Battle Start Galactica? Or Anthropological conceptions from Joss Whedon’s Avengers?

But that has in spired me to re-think the Annual Meeting title to Convention, and if you add in the SBL and AAR acronyms, you end up with SBLAAR Con.

Sadly, I’ll only get to the sci-fi discussions if I have time. I’m genuinely interested in so many sessions there is no real way I can make it to all of them. But with the location in San Diego, there isn’t much of a downside except for the business of getting to as many sessions as possible.

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Travel, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

