Impressive Women: Role Models for the Girls

10686733_630172428303_1977266936168409373_n

My daughters are named after Jane Austen and Lucy from “the Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe”. I wanted them to have simple classic names that anyone could pronounce and probably spell, but these are names that are true to our own family’s love of literature.

Now I have been slowly looking into finding impressive female role models. You know other than their amazing mother who is quite a role model for the girls anyways.

Of course, I’m a swimmer. So folks like Dana Volmer, Missy Franklin, Katie Ledecky, Dara Torres, Lynne Cox and Natalie Caughlin all sprang to mind.
1c76523443c0c93179a2239988c53fe2_large
As a pastor a completely different list springs to mind: folks like Dorothy Day, Mother Teresa, Julian of Norwich, Macrina, Monica, Ellen Davis, Rachel Held Evans, and Lauren Winners.
dorothy-day250x200
We also have scientific leanings in our family providing yet another list: Jane Goodall, Cade Coleman, Valentina Tereshkova, really all of the female astronauts, Marie Curie, Hypatia, and Rosalind Franklin.
jane-goodall-birthday-80
I’m not sure why I want to put these women as role models for the girls. These ladies all worked incredibly hard to do what they have accomplished or are accomplishing. Hard work is essential to happiness in my mind, and that more than anything is a value I want to instill in my girls.

The other values that I admire and want for my girls is a hunger to explore, to push, to look around at the world and see a place that was crafted by God’s hands and be inspired to creative pursuits of engagement with a place of beauty. I want them to seek a love that is disciplined in the help of others.

I don’t want to leave them broken by too huge of aspirations not met in terms of accomplishment but to aspire to work hard and to love well. No matter what they do I will be proud of them and love them more deeply than they can imagine.  If they want me too, my wife and I will walk with them wherever they want to go.

For now we will show them all the places that we can and a few of them we will show them well.

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

