Headaches of Video Review

When it comes to writing, I’m a touch of a perfectionist.

When it comes to video – that perfectionism takes over and goes out of the way to crash me into every small divot. And honestly, I’m not any good at it even when I do spend too much time.

To caveat this, I’m doing a contest entry to win a free trip to Japan being done by an Author D.W. Jackson. Here’s the link. It’s a video review of any of his fantasy books. I picked up “Inexperienced Mage” and enjoyed it. But the video is giving me some headaches.

It’s sort of like a car with ultra stiff suspension verses the old boats that I drove when I first got my licenses. In the boats, you glide over every pothole with the occasional jostle forgotten in the nice comy seats. You glide around corners in a sort of elephantine ballet where mistakes are masked by weight and sheer momentum.

That’s writing occasionally… Actually, I get pretty nervous about writing too.

But video just makes me feel every bump and jar. Every time I repeat a word or miss a facial expression, I just start over. Knowing that I can edit the bits and pieces I want into a cohesive whole should help, but for some reason I fight to get it right in one take.

Something about editing doesn’t seem pure enough.

Surprisingly, I’m enjoying myself. I just wish I had more time to spend on the project or that I could do something more interesting visually with the video equipment I have. But that would perhaps just add to the frustrations for now, those delightful frustrations.

I’ll put up a review of the book as well as the video on here in few days. Wish me luck!

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Fiction in Review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

