Vegan Chili in West Texas

10888709_636981582703_4284016859685427133_n

I wouldn’t have expected it, but last night my Chili one third place which wouldn’t be all that unusual except that it’s my own vegan recipe (not that anyone can have that different of a chili recipe) and I live in cattle country.

Now, I’m not vegan, but I have spent some time vegan. A friend once threw together a great bowl of sweet potato chili that I enjoyed greatly, but this was long before I’d ever considered going vegan. So, I ate the chili with shredded cheese on top without blinking an eye.

Beans had always been my favorite part of chili, but the last two chili cook offs I’ve been a part of, I’ve really started to enjoy the all meat varieties. I entered my vegan chili primarily to offer another option, and from meatitarians the response has been largely positive to my surprise.

A few months back I posted up the recipe for anyone who wants it, I used a little more vegetable stock and garlic with a little less onion tonight. It’s a great and pretty quick way to make a lot of food. There’s even some left over for tomorrow.

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Good Eats, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

