Never Done Turning Pages: Thank Goodness!

Books

Over the last few months I have picked up a slew of books, and while I have made good progress, I still haven’t caught up on all that I want to get done. That might be as good a definition of life as we could hope for – not quite done with all that we want done. Nope. It’s too verbose. With a sick day for the little girl and a new sermon series starting up I thought I would catch up on some of my reading.

What I’ve got going on right now:

Public Zen, Personal Zen
A Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything
The Engines of God
The Myth of Religious Violence
The Hidden Mechanics of Exercise
Brothers Karamozov – This is a long time thing – going on years at this point
Omnivore’s Dilema
The Samurai
A Life of Jesus – Shusaku Endo
A Little Princess
Collapse
Making Space: How the Brain Knows Where We Are

I have three books I’m reading/rereading on the Lord’s Prayer to prepare for my sermon series, and I recently picked up parts of Bonhoeffer’s Life Together for the same reason. I’m also making notes on vegan recipes I want to try in the near future and figuring out a new feeding schedule for longer swims/runs to see if I can increase my recovery rate.

While the list is fairly long, I know it’ll be a long time before I plow through all of this, and I know a few more books will be added before I finish the ones I have on the list. But with J running a high fever and only wanting to watch TV or take naps, I’m at least a few hundred pages closer to my goal.

It’s really no fun at all to watch my little girl suffer. So, now to get J feeling better so I can take her to the pool or the playground and forget about reading again until I’ve added a few more books!

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Family, Fiction in Review, Non-Fiction in Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

