Daylight Savings: Time is Melting

salvador-dali-persistence-of-memory-clocks-meaning

Every time we go through a time change, I feel like time is melting and warped.

Hence the Salvador Dali.

Just moving one hour shouldn’t be a big deal, but it really hits me. A few people confessed today and yesterday that they felt nausea and a headache for being off their routine. My wife and I have a 3 year old and a 1 year old, so my immediate response was astonishment.

What’s it like to have a schedule so regular that an hour throws you off balance?

Now you have to understand, I have a hero for a wife. She gets up most nights with the girls, and I take day shift watching the girls when she needs to catch up. It is not an equitable arrangement, she is by far the worse off for sleep. While I do try to help, I just can’t keep up with her.

However, this does not mean that I manage a regular pattern of sleep.

But still, something just feels off today knowing that I slept in a little and still got up later than I normally do and feel like I got up hours to early. It should just feel like an hour, but it really doesn’t.

Wouldn’t it be nice if we were on just one time for the whole year….? Until then, may time melt pleasantly for you!

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

