Spin Class: A First Time for Everything…

15 - 1-1
I’m a terrible cyclist.

Last year at the two triathlons that I raced, cycling was the biggest let down. That’s saying something because I am not a terribly good runner either. But when you blow the big guns out of the way in the water, there is something dispiriting to having everyone and their grandmother pass you on the bike.

No kidding, I was the first out of the water at one triathlon by nearly 2.5 minutes, and it took the other cyclists about 2-3 miles before they caught up. Then, they just passed me. No amount of huffing and puffing on the hilly course could get my legs to move any faster. They were hitting nearly 25 mph, and I was dawdling at 16 mph. It wasn’t even a competition.

The next triathlon, a visiting pro and friend of mine Mark Hillers swam for their relay and we tied out of the water. He was a step ahead if you ask me, but the times came back even. His teammate took off, but the next person out of the water was nearly 50 seconds behind us. Again, on the bike, it was one long session of being passed.

Now I know that to improve at something you actually have to do it.

So, that knowledge has led me to spin class.

The weather is nice this week, but it hasn’t been. So, spin is it for me.

The class wasn’t the hardest thing I have ever done, but it was challenging and in no way did I manage to keep up with the pace of the class. Most of the time I had to drop back and chill for a while before jumping back in.

I used to think swimmers liked bad music, but cyclists are worse. The techno or disco or clubbing music blasting from the speakers was exactly what I needed to get through some of the work out, and I enjoyed every minute of it. It’s not anything that you’d expect people to remember 100 years from now – it was neither stylish, complex, or beautiful in any discernible sense.

But it was fun.

And I’ve downloaded a few of the songs as a guilty pleasure.

In the end I got a great work out in 45 minutes, but I know I’ll need to go more often and for longer periods of time to really build up my cycling speed and endurance. Maybe I need to put in fewer junk yards in the pool and put some more junk miles on the bike. With good weather here it is definitely time.

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

