Lentil Soup – A non-chicken based tortilla soup…

Unfortunately, I forgot to grab a picture of this soup.

I started out like I do on almost every soup – chopped unions and diced garlic simmering in coconut oil until they are well and thoroughly caramelized. Then I added about 2 liters of water and a pound of dried lentils, some squash, green chili, and kale.

If I’d thought about it I would have added some carrots and celery, but I didn’t have any that day.

My goal was to create a sort of vegan tortilla soup, and I just forgot the tortillas.

I was going to add hominy, but the bag of frozen hominy got crafty and hid in my freezer. So, I used corn and then added some black beans.

I didn’t want it to become chili, so I didn’t add any tomatoes. However, I added chili powder and cumin – not quite as much cumin as I put in my chili. I really wanted some bay leaf, but I didn’t have any. So, I used thyme, celery seed, and oregano which gave it a pretty good flavor.

Once again, the one year old loved it, and the three year old wouldn’t try it. We served it over rice and it lasted for a few days. I’m looking forward to trying again with all the ingredients I had planned on using. That and I want to serve it with fresh avocado slices, diced cilantro, and fresh cut cherry tomatoes.

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Good Eats and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

