Reflections on the End of Poetry Month

unnamed-3

The beginning of spring is now in full swing in the Panhandle of Texas, and after a month of hunting down poems, I’m glad to say that April is over. I patently avoided some of my favorite poems in favor of less heard of gems that I had encountered or rather encountered over the last month. It was sometimes hunting through nearly 100 poems on different topics and ideas. Other times something jumped out after a couple minutes of seeking.

The result?

I’m strained, exhausted, and very please to say that I found a lot of poems to add to my lists. I’ve also realized I need to pick up on my poetry reading before next year and keep a good log over the year. Not to mention exploring the blog-o-sphere for good poets and wordsmiths.

There is also a definite sense that I need to continue to write and work on my own verse. I kept penning things over the last month, but I never really was satisfied with anything that I’d written. There’s snippets and bits and pieces of doggerel penned on four different note pads and even some saved on wordpress.

Maybe next year.

For now, it’s back to writing prose again.

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Fiction in Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

