Crazy Adventure – Eight Years of Marriage

IMG_3790

Yesterday, my wife and I celebrated eight years of marriage!

It isn’t one of the big anniversaries – like a decade or two or beyond, but every anniversary is big. Honestly, I’ve had so much fun it both manages to feel like no time at all has passed, and yet, in a true demonstration of the human brain’s paradoxical capacity to pass through time, I have not one clue how we’ve managed to squeeze so much in to eight years.

It feels like we’ve done more than we can imagine fitting into eight years. How we did it I have no idea I just can’t be sure.

What I am sure of, is that eight years ago I nervously married my Courtney feeling incredibly lucky.

I had know idea how far up I had married.

She has at every turn been more than I could possibly have asked for or even known to ask for. We have travelled all over the country and seen each other through a couple of degrees. We have had two wonderful little girls together, and we have moved 7 times over the eight years we’ve been married.

I could never have asked for a better partner.

Stanley Hauerwas, a theologian and ethicist from Duke, claims boldly that “We all marry the wrong person.” He usually says this right before claiming “the converse is also true, we all marry the right person.” The tension exists because we can never know the person we marry completely, and that makes whoever we marry the wrong person because we marry them under false pretenses. They’re the right person because we marry them knowing we and they will change.

Of course there’s much more to say with all of that, but I picked this out because Courtney and I married each other knowing we would change and we would willingly change for each other and around each other.

After eight years, I can say I married my best friend. She becomes more of my best friend with each day and each moment, it’s enough to make me more anxious/excited/overjoyed in the face of the future as I was when watching my bride come down the isle to me.

What a crazy adventure we are having!

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

