Running and Dancing!

11350433_652864193823_3082041437173506607_n

And feeling finally free….

Ok, before I butcher the quote from Rapunzel – a movie I wish I had seen fewer times – and get involved with some type of problem with Disney, I want to say, J – my little girl – loves running… and dancing…

And dressing up!

Maybe an hour into our stay with our in-laws in Clovis, J found this old costume of her mom’s. While everyone else was unpacking, she got dressed and wanted to go running on the nice smooth sidewalks out in the fairly new subdivision.

It was very cute. She just looked at me and said, “Let’s go running, Daddy!”

Well, I’m a sucker for those little blue eyes – and I had no idea how far she could run! So off we went!

We went around the block and back, and then she wanted to keep going so we went further around the block, and further, and further. Then back to the house again. Over and over again.

She would show me how tough she was by walking across pebbles… But sometimes she’d get me to carry her over the little ones that hurt.

She would show me how well she could jump whenever someone had a decorative stone near the sidewalk… Sometimes she’d take a little step up to the rock.

We would walk to the far away lamp posts, and then back to the house.

It was a wild adventure for a three-year-old.

On our last trip out for the day, we got about half way back and she wanted to ride the rest of the way back on my shoulders hugging daddy’s forehead.

It amazes me how much fun it can be just walking around a neighborhood. I’ve always enjoyed it, but with a barefoot and dance costume wearing three-year-old everything from pebbles to decorative rocks become a little magical.

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

