Annual Conference Hijinks… A Non-Review of Jurassic World

1454545_655277547443_161007803493482150_n

What do you do when you have a 6:45 breakfast?

That’s right, a 9:45 showing of Jurassic world!

And bring friends, because exhaustion is better together.

NWTX started off Annual Conference pretty well, our laity voted in a couple of delegates to general conference in their first vote…. Us clergy are more difficult, and thankfully, I’m a teller so I get to run around and collect/count ballots with a few other luckies.

Coming into AC, I figured it would be a boring job for which I’m ill-equipped by temperament and fortitude – but low and behold, I was wrong. It makes the boring parts of AC more fun by giving me something to do.

Although I still long for the chance to use lap tops. I’m not sure why no one is really using one, I always like multitasking during presentations. It makes the time pass by faster, and honestly, I was hoping to get some writing done.

But no one else has their computers out… Except the conference staff.

And I don’t want to be awkward… Ok, more awkward.

Well anyway, I feel like I don’t quite get enough time with the clergy out here – we hardly ever see each other. There’s this one guy who is always reading something I’ve never heard of that sounds incredible – this time it’s a book by the house preacher for the pope. How cool is that?

So, in an effort to enjoy some time together, I tried to get a group together to stay up really late and test their vitality by seeing Jurassic World.

Which I will not review… Ok, just a little – it was exactly what it should be – Dinosaur Picnic… 4… What a ride!

Of course, we didn’t get to bed until 1 pm, and I was woken up nearly an hour ago at 4:30 am by my two wonderful cuddle bugs. I love crazy ideas!

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Family, Fiction in Review, Practices of Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

