Annual Conference and Back Home

11401325_655352217803_4715769149920566395_n

It’s over.

At least for another year.

A few hundred people went home after spending their time in a democratic endeavor. Devoted and passionate people who deeply care for their church spent time together. It’s a weird kingdom where we cannot remain quietists or quakers, but sometimes I wish we could wait like that for the Holy Spirit.

It makes me wonder what Paul meant by be of one mind.

Was this it?

That may come off as negative, but I don’t mean it that way. Surprisingly, I think political maneuvers and spin off conversations are fun. Even when I get burned, it seems amusing.

But perhaps that’s because I know I could always be wrong, and frankly, it happens pretty frequently. I’m not the most humble person nor do I have the easiest time being submissive, so I can get pretty up in arms sometimes when I’m snubbed.

But all this comes back to a basic question:

Was this what Paul meant?

Was this what Jesus meant when he said to love one another?

I could picture it, there were debates in the early church – votes, casting lots, conversations with those in authority appear all over the Bible. There was the grecian widows that needed a lobby, there were gentiles who needed a voice…

I think the political process is a valid means of discernment – discernment of the will and work of God and God’s people.

All I can say for sure is that I’m glad I’m back home, and I’m glad I was there to see a friend ordained and many old and new friends over the last few days.

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Church and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

