Morning Prayer on the Trail

IMG_4127

The morning prayer became one of our favorites predominately for the blessing at the end that was more prophetic than I wish it had been. We did get lost and were guided through the wilderness, we were in a harsh storm – so harsh it later killed one person on the other side of NM at Philmont Scout Ranch, and we were brought home rejoicing at the wonders we had seen.

Please lift that family and the Philmont Scouting community up in your own prayers. 

Prayer Rubric 

+ cross yourself reflecting on the Father, Son, and Holy Ghost

* change readers when praying in a group
italics each person repeats the phrase when praying in a group
bold the group reads this passage in unison

 

Morning Prayer

 

+ In the name of the Father,

                  and of the Son,

and of the Holy Spirit. Amen.

I arise today

through the strength of heaven:
light of the sun
*Splendor of fire,

Speed of lightening,

*Swiftness of the wind,

Depth of the sea,

*Stability of the earth,

Firmness of the rock.

*I arise today
with God’s strength to pilot me:
God’s might to uphold me

*God’s wisdom to guide me
God’s eye to look ahead for me

*God’s ear to hear me
God’s word to speak for me

*God’s hand to defend me
God’s way to lie before me

*God’s shield to protect me
God’s host to safeguard me.

I arise today
in a mighty strength
calling upon the Trinity,
believing in the Three Persons
saying they are One
thanking my Creator.

         To whom shall we go?
You have the word’s of eternal life.

Scripture Reading – Refer to the Daily Office

Reflection and Response

Prayers Lifted Up

Blessing
May the peace of the Lord Christ go with you,
where ever He may send you.
May He guide you through the wilderness,

protect you through the storm.
May He bring you home rejoicing
at the wonders He has shown you.
May He bring you home rejoicing
once again into our doors.

+ In the name of the Father,

and of the Son,

and of the Holy Spirit. Amen.

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Practices of Faith, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

