Shingles: The Ongoing Battle

cust_bg_1894_1415671391858

I am pretty tired of the shingles being the answer to a question.

The shingles continue to cause fatigue long after the sores and the pain is gone – although I still get bursts of that pain. At this point it has been three months plus a week or so.

I’ve been backpacking, but I fought the fatigue the whole way.

I’ve tried swimming again, but I’m not even at beginner levels of stamina.

Usually, two miles is not a stress on the body.

Yeah, I know that sounds crazy, but no kidding it does not really wear on me any more than a nice little walk. However, now it definitely gets to me. Two days in a row of a little 1 hours swim of 2 miles is the end of what I have the stamina to do right now.

So, I want to figure out a process of getting back up to speed. At this point I’ve lost all the traction I gained from a couple years ago in someways, but my weight is still down which is good. Ok… Not as far down as I would like it, but I’m maybe 20 lbs over weight not 60 lbs overweight.

One article suggested that the general principles in building back up involved are:

1) Duration

2) Intensity

3) Frequency

This is what I’m working on right now. I know I don’t have the stamina, and I want to build it back up without killing myself everyday and risking getting sick again. So, now I’m looking at keeping it to half an hour three days a week for a couple of weeks. Then I want to build it up from there slowly.

Build up the frequency of exercising until I’m back to 5-6 days a week, then up the duration slowly… Very slowly. Then as I go slowly increase the intensity. Assuming I don’t go crazy with impatience…

We’ll see how it goes… Meanwhile I hope my stamina will magically come back quickly.

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

