Pocari Sweat… Best Name for a Sports Drink!

IMG_4442

Ok, I normally closet off the nerdy parts of myself so I can fit in to polite society. My deep confession is this: I want to go to Japan… Pretty much all of Japan.

So, I watch Travel Vlogs like “Texan in Tokyo” and “Rachel and Jun” – both are cute couples. Texan in Tokyo is definitely my favorite of the two. They just seem like people I would like to meet.

Anyways, apparently when you’re sick in Japan you don’t get gatorade, powerade, or pedialyte. Nope… None of the normal U.S. drinks. Instead you get the sports beverage with the best possible name of all time – “Pocari Sweat”.

Who doesn’t want to try something with sweat in the name?

I definitely did.

After reading a few reviews people seem to like it better than gatorade or powerade regardless of flavor or dilution or concentration. Pocari Sweat was describe as having a little salty flavor.

Now I had to try it.

So, I did the normal thing, headed out to Amazon and bought some drink mix to make my own. It took two days to ship, and then it was there.

How did it taste?

In a word, it was as good as the reviewers said, better than gatorade and powerade. The cloudiness of the liquid sort of looked like the frost flavored gatorade or powerade. The flavor was sweet. There was no salty flavor to speak of or salty after taste. I think the reviewers ran into a lack of vocabulary to describe the after taste, it wasn’t at all unpleasant. I just don’t have words to describe it.

I do know it is getting added to the drink mix … mix. Right now I use Skratch Labs, Gatorade, and Pocari Sweat. Which brings me to the one problem.

The box contains 5 packets that each make 1 L a piece. That’s 5 L for $11.49 – unless amazon comes down in price. If I do some math, I discover that’s around $2.30 a L, which is honestly what you pay for a 32 oz gatorade that isn’t on sale. However, a $20 thing of gatorade makes 24 quarts.

Now I just have one request – sell this stuff in a tub that makes 24 quarts and charge me a little more than gatorade please!

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Fitness, Gear Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

