Jumping off Rocks: What am I up to?

11141227_657257794013_737350078944086381_n

Watching J jump off rocks is pretty amazing.

A year and a half ago, I jumped off a rock towards a particular end. Writing is both a dark place of massive anxiety for me and simultaneously a place of peace and rejuvenation. It’s an odd combo, and where that journey starts, I really do not know. The rock I jumped off of was making this blog and putting it to myself to write a post a day for a week.

A week turned into a month and a month turned into a year, and now I’m well on my way to a year and a half. Over the time, I have tried to figure out what reason motivates me to write. It all started off as an effort to write for myself – not seminary, not school, not explicitly for church.

I wanted to overcome the problems created by the stress and anxiety of writing for professors that had made writing an abysmal chore, one only approached with dread in my chest.

But after a year and a half of writing, that dread is nearly gone. Or at least it has becomes something that I can live with when I write.

So, what am I still writing for? Well, in general, I am writing to improve my writing, but frankly, there are a lot of different areas where I haven’t even tried to improve lately. My biggest struggle has been with editing, and I don’t spend the time to edit my posts on here. My second biggest struggle is doing effective research into what I am writing, and I spend little time fact checking or using scholarly sources in my writing – the former because I am writing mostly opinion peaces and the later because they’re often boring to present.

I’m still writing while I think through and pray about what I want to do with my little blog.

Do I want to keep it in its miscellaneous form? Do I want to keep posting every day? Do I want to narrow its focus to a few topics?

Well, I have no idea. I didn’t know what I would write about all this time, but I know I’m going to keep writing for at least a little longer.

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Non-Fiction in Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

