What’s Different About Us?

14 - 11

Sitting in the car, a friend asked me a question: “What makes us different?”

I had been talking about swim meets on Sundays. Most swim meets for masters swimmers in the U.S. are on Sundays which rules out competition for me. So, we ended up speculating about what makes us different from the people who don’t prioritize Sundays.

I doubt we’re really different.

Augustine speculated about the story of Adam and Eve. He believed the fall was not the biting of the apple but rather leaving the presence of God that precipitated the eating of the fruit. It was complacency. Simple complacency.

They forgot the goodness of God. They grew so accustomed to it, that they didn’t seek after it when it was gone.

It happens to all of us. We find ourselves complacent and allow sin to slip in.

For some of us, we are energized by restless hearts that seek out places where we can find that rest in God. Augustine was one of them, I think I am – at least I feel like my heart is restless.

There’s something tragic in a heart that has become satisfied with too little. Frogs caught in tepid water that is now starting to boil. We get used to so little that we forget how much life can be in us with the resolve to find that peace, find that joy, find the labor for which God prepared us – in worship, in life, in our minds, in our hearts, in our friendships.

I’m not sure I’m any different from those who come to church once a month or once a year, I work at a church, I preach on Sunday. But if I didn’t would I be any different? Would I still make time for it? I want to say yes and cite my past as my reference, but the past isn’t the future or the now. Perhaps I would end up complacent with a every other week faith if I didn’t have to preach.

I don’t know.

What I do know is that there is a purpose beyond us in meeting together on Sundays and worshiping. And that I find that purpose compelling and satisfying. Perhaps everyone else would too, because we’re not truly different.

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Church, Practices of Faith and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

