Training For?

imgres-2

Goals…. Hmmm…

I have not really set any goals for anything since I’ve got the shingles.

This is a bit weird for me. It’s far from my normal.

While some competitions dance in front of my eyes – the Tri To Make A Difference, a half marathon in Lubbock in October – none are really feeling like options. Slogging through and spending a week sick or in disrepair doesn’t sound like great fun.

So for now, I sit and work out very slowly with nothing in mind.

No races. Let’s be fair, there really weren’t any swimming meet options out here anyways. I’ve thought off and on about racing the youth in the USA Swimming Meets.

No real fitness goals.

Frankly, I feel like setting goals right now is a waste of time. I can’t seem to stay well long enough even with holding back. Fun occasional sprints are the most fun I can have, but I’m more of a distance athlete. I want to push myself, I want to go the distance at high pace.

I keep working, maybe these little work outs will bear fruit. Maybe I’ll stop getting sick.

Perhaps there is motivation that comes from not having goals in the midst of not being able to push myself. It’s just about having fun working.

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

