Trying Out New Tires

10505430_612251506973_6529103003710404815_n

The last month and a half I have been riding. In fact, I’ve cycled more over the last month and a half than I have ever in my life.

The first week, I had back pain.

That stopped after another few short rides.

But then I had a series of flat tires. Now, I am still new to road biking, and I have a lot to learn. The first attempt to put a new inter tube on the bike only lasted a day. The tire levers they sell were very useful in getting the tube off, but you really aren’t supposed to use them to put the tire back on.

It’ll do exactly what happened on my first and second attempt – pinch the tire open.

When I finally figured out how to put on the tube and tire it lasted a bit longer. I even checked the tire for punctures with a slick bit of cloth and didn’t find anything. The idea of using the lever to get the tire off, and then check the tire with a cloth. After that you use your hands to put the inter tube in and get the tire back on

But I ended up with another flat yesterday. So, I took the wheel in to the shop. The wire of the tires were poking into the tube. It was time for a new tire.

They recommended kevlar. Normally, I research a bit more, but today I just took their advice and I’m giving the new tires ago. Hopefully, I can offer something constructive about them in a few weeks.

About Sean Smith

Husband, Father, Pastor, Swimmer, Writer, Reader, and attempted Adventurer!
This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

